DENMARK (Danmark)

Copenhagen      EUROPE

Nyhavn canal, Copenhagen, Denmark
Nyhavn canal, Copenhagen, © Can Stock Photo / scanrai

Denmark, or the Kingdom of Denmark, is a constituional monarchy with a population of about 6 million.  The best known part of the country is bordered by Germany and has a bridge-tunnel to Sweden, but Denmark also includes the Faroe Islands and Greenland.  Denmark controlled shipping between the Baltic and the North Atlantic via the Danish straits until the 60 mile Kiel Canal through Germany was completed in 1895.  Danish surnames used to be patronymic and changed with each generation based on the father's first name by adding "sen", as in Nielsen or Andersen.  


Denmark (excluding Greenland and the Faroe Islands) participates in the Schengen Zone and Schengen Visa requirements.  That means there are no border controls between members and no border inspections by rail or vehicle when traveling from Denmark to Sweden and Germany.  Some countries that are not members of the Schengen Zone require a Schengen Visa to enter Europe.  More than 40 countries outside the Schengen Zone do not require a visa.  Exemptions include citizens of Australia, Canada, Mexico, Japan, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.  A list of countries that need a visa is available at New to Denmark or check your specific country at VisaHQ.   For a list of exempt countries, visit Project Visa.


Although Denmark is part of the European Union, it does not participate in the use of the Euro.  Be prepared to obtain Danish krones at an ATM or use a credit card, as these are widely accepted.


Due to the influence of the Atlantic, Denmark has a temperate climate with winter temperatures hovering around freezing and cool summers with lots of daylight.

View Denmark map