Helsinki      EUROPE

Baltic island near Helsinki, Finland
Baltic island near Helsinki, © Can Stock Photo / alan64

Finland is a parliamentary republic officially known as the Republic of Finland.  It has a poplulation of about 6 million and is inhabited mainly in its southern areas.  Finland is a Scandinavia country bordered by Norway, Sweden and Russia.  Tallinn, Eastonia is directly across the bay.  In the past Finland was part of Sweden and then Russia.  It gained independence from Russia in 1917 with German assistance.  The residents of Finland have one of the world's highest per capita incomes and residents experience an extensive welfare system.


Finland participates in the Schengen Zone and Schengen Visa requirements.  That means there are no border controls between members and no border inspections by rail or vehicle when traveling from Finland to Sweden, Norway or Estonia.  Some countries that are not members of the Schengen Zone require a Schengen Visa to enter Europe.  More than 40 countries outside the Schengen Zone do not require a visa.  Exemptions include citizens of Australia, Canada, Mexico, Japan, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.  Refer to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for Finland or check your specific country at VisaHQ.   For a list of exempt countries, visit Project Visa.


Finland is a member of the European Union and participates fully as a member of the Eurozone, which means its currency is the Euro.

View Finland map