Budapest      EUROPE

View of the Danube and Parliament, Budapest, Hungary
Danube and Parliament, © Can Stock Photo /gina_sanders

Hungary is a country of about 10 million people.  It is situated in a relatively flat basin to the east of the Alps.  The Danube River flows through it.  Budapest is its capital and largest city.   Hungary is bordered by Austria, Slovakia, Slovenia , the Ukraine, Romania, Serbia and Croatia.  The country came into existence around 1,000 CE but lost substantial lands after World War I.  Hungary sided with Germany in World War II and came under Soviet influence after that war.  In 1989 Hungary became a democratic republic.


Hungary participates in the Schengen Zone and Schengen Visa requirements.  That means there are no border controls between members and no border inspections by rail or vehicle when traveling from Hungary to Austria, Slovakia and Slovenia.  Some countries that are not members of the Schengen Zone require a Schengen Visa to enter Europe.  More than 40 countries outside the Schengen Zone do not require a visa.  Exemptions include citizens of Australia, Canada, Mexico, Japan, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.  Check the list of countries that do not require a visa at Hungary's Consular Services site or search individual country status at VisaHQ.  For a list of exempt countries, visit Project Visa.


Hungary does not participate in the Euro, so be prepared to acquire and use the Forint (HUF).

View Hungary map