Kathmandu      Asia

Mount Everest, Nepal
Mount Everest, © Can Stock Photo / zqfotography

Nepal is officially known as the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal and it has a population of about 30 million.  The country is set on the southern slopes of the Himilayas.  It has a rectangular shape with Tibet (China) forming its northern border while India encloses the other three sides.  Nepal has been inhabited for several thousand years.  The Kingdom of Nepal administered the country from the 1700s up until it became a republic in 2008.  Although most of the population practices Hinduism, Nepal is best known for being the birthplace of Buddhism.

Geographically the Himilayas determine the landscape of Nepal.  Many of the highest peaks in the world are located here, inlcuding Mount Everest, the world's highest.  The country runs east/west paralleling the mountains.  Most of the country is steep and rolling hills.  It transitions to grasslands at its southern border with India.   Nepal experiences extreme variations in temperature from tropical to arctic depending on elevation.  The monsoon season in India impacts the weather significantly.  From June through September winds push clouds up against the Himilayas, creating heavy monsoon downpours.


A tourist visa is issued on arrival to Nepal for most nationalities.  India is exempt from the requirement.  There are currently 11 African and Middle Eastern countries that must obtain a visa prior to arrival.  Consult the Nepal Department of Immigration web site or check your specific country at VisaHQ.   For a list of exempt countries, visit Project Visa.


The Nepalese rupee is the official currency of Nepal.

View Nepal map