Bratislava      EUROPE

Slovak National Theater, Bratislava
Slovak National Theater, © Can Stock Photo / tupungato

Slovakia is properly called the Slovak Republic.  It has a population of more than 5 million and most inhabitants are Slovaks.  The country is bordered by Austria, the Czech Republic, Poland, the Ukraine and Hungary.  Slovakia has had a long a varied history of occupation, including Slavic states in the Pirncipality of Nitra, Marovia, the Kingdom of Hungary, the Hapsburg Empire and Czechoslovakia.  Slovakia became an independent country in 1993.  The capital city of Bratislava is located on the Danube in the southwest edge of the country bordering Austria and Hungary.


A tourist visa is not required for most nationalities provided that you are staying less than 3 months.  Slovakia is a member of the European Schengen Zone and Schengen Visa, which means there are no border controls between members and no border inspections by rail or vehicle when traveling from Slovakia to Austria, the Czech Republic, Poland and Hungary.  More than 40 countries outside the Schengen Zone do not require a visa.  Exemptions include citizens of Australia, Canada, Mexico, Japan, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.  Check the list of countries that require a Slovak Republic visa at the Slovak-Republic.org web site or search individual country status at VisaHQ.  For a list of exempt countries, visit Project Visa.  Another great source of information is the web site of Schengen Visa Info.


Slovakia a member of the European Union and uses the Euro as its currency.

View Slovakia map