Stockholm      EUROPE

Stockholm Archipelago in Baltic Sea, Sweden
Stockholm Archipelago in Baltic Sea, © Can Stock Photo / Ursula1964

Sweden, or the Kingdowm of Sweden, is a constitutional monarchy with a population of about 10 million.  The country is bordered by Norway and Finland.  It is connected to Denmark by a bridge-tunnel.  The area was dominated by the Vikings from the 8th to 11th centuries.  The Swedish Empire held great influence in the 17th century.  Today Sweden is a member of the European Union.  Norwegian surnames in the past were heavily patronymic and changed with each generation based on the father's first name by adding "sson", as in Erikssonor Andersson.


Sweden participates in the Schengen Zone and Schengen Visa requirements.  That means there are no border controls between members and no border inspections by rail or vehicle when traveling from Sweden to Finland or Norway.  Some countries that are not members of the Schengen Zone require a Schengen Visa to enter Europe.  More than 40 countries outside the Schengen Zone do not require a visa.  Exemptions include citizens of Australia, Canada, Mexico, Japan, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.  Check your specific country at VisaHQ.  For a list of exempt countries, visit Project Visa.


The Swedish currency is the Krona (SEK).

View Sweden map