Montevideo      Punta del Este      SOUTH AMERICA

Jose Ignacio, Uruguay
Jose Ignacio, © Can Stock Photo /diegocardini

Uruguay is a country in east central South America.  It is bordered to the west by Argentina and by Brazil to the north.  The Rio Plata River and the Atlantic Ocean limit the country on the south and east.  The interior of Uruguay is lush and green, but it is best know for its beaches.  The capital and largest city is Montevideo.  Historically, Uruguay was the involved in power struggles between Spain, Portugual, Brazil and Argentina.  In the early 1800s it became an independent nation.  Today Uruguay is a democratic country with a high standard of living and a reputation for being a safe place for travel.


A visa is not required for citiznens of many countries.  Exemptions include citizens of Australia, Canada, Mexico, Japan, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.  Check your specific country at VisaHQ.   For a list of exempt countries, visit Project Visa.


The currency of Uuruguay is the Uruguayan peso.  The US$ is very popular in the tourist areas of Punta del Este and Montevideo.  The Uruguayan peso is much more stable the the Argentine peso, so don't expect the extreme desire for US$ that you will find in neighboring Argentina.

View Uruguay map